Problem to make playlists

More
12 years 6 months ago #3291 by alpinemartin
:( I am a Joomla Beginner and have build a family website using Joomla 1.7. For my video clips, I would like to try to use JWPlayer as a Plugin in an article, but I could also consider using the Module. My problem is that I cannot get the free version to work with a playlist. I am also uncertain of how to do a correct upgrate of the free version, without overwriting any parameters of importance.

Please help me with instructions for the following:

1. What syntax should I use in an article to make the JWPlayer appear (correctly sized to Width=864 Height=486) with a playlist? How do I build the playlist (do I need to build a separate file? If so, what syntax? Where to put the file?)

2. How do I upgrade my old version of JWPlayer to the current free version

Incidentally, I have tried in vain to find and download the .pdf documentation to the JWPlayer - any help would be appreciated

Regards, Martin

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 6 months ago #3293 by admin
Replied by admin on topic Re: Problem to make playlists
Hello,

As Free members you have only access to the free module :
www.joomlarulez.com/download/cat_view/41.../43-free-module.html

and here is documentation :

www.joomlarulez.com/download/cat_view/45...counter&ascdesc=DESC

1 a - to Embed a player in article a content plugin is more accurate (like the JW player plugin advanced), but a module can do the job (less user friendly but possible), see how to here (this if for J1.5, but 1.7 works the same) :

www.joomlaspan.com/general/include-any-m...ent-in-joomla-15.php

1 b - For the playlist yes it can be locate in an xml file (RSS link), see how to here :

www.longtailvideo.com/support/jw-player/...xml-playlist-support

This is also explain in the doc

2 - Sorry it depend from how was embed jwplyer in our website.

More
12 years 6 months ago #3297 by alpinemartin